A Warwick PhD scholarship application through the Chancellors’ awards is your route to a fully funded PhD at the University of Warwick, one of the UK’s leading research universities. For October 2027 entry the awards run as part of the Warwick Postgraduate Research Scholarships 2027 competition, and they are open to students of any nationality. This guide explains what the scholarship pays, who can apply, the two written statements, how Warwick ranks candidates and the December deadlines. The key facts are also on our Warwick Chancellor’s Scholarship 2027 listing.
We checked every detail on 27 October 2026 against the official Warwick Doctoral College pages and UKRI’s stipend page. Where Warwick does not give a detail, we say so.
Warwick Chancellor’s Scholarship at a glance
| University | University of Warwick, Coventry, United Kingdom |
| Level | PhD, MPhil/PhD, EngD or the PhD stage of a Master’s+PhD course |
| Who can apply | Any nationality or fee status, starting in October 2027 |
| Funding | Full fees (UK or international rate), UKRI-rate stipend for 3.5 years, 5,000 pound research grant |
| Places | Up to 30 Faculty Chancellors’ and up to 12 Interdisciplinary Chancellors’ awards (up to 80 PGR scholarships in total) |
| Course application deadline | 7 December 2026, 16:59 GMT |
| Scholarship deadline | 10 December 2026, 16:59 GMT |
| References | 21 December 2026, 16:59 GMT |
One application, six scholarship streams
Some Warwick department pages still refer to the Chancellor’s International Scholarship. For 2027 entry, a single scholarship application considers you for every stream you are eligible for: Faculty Chancellors (up to 30 awards), Interdisciplinary Chancellors (up to 12), AHRC Doctoral Scholarships (up to 3), Doctoral Access Pathway (up to 3), Doctoral Access Sanctuary (up to 2) and China Scholarship Council awards (up to 30). The two Chancellors’ streams are the ones open to any nationality without extra conditions, which makes them the main option for international applicants. You can opt out of streams you do not want.
What the scholarship pays
- Full tuition fees at the UK or international rate, so international students do not pay the difference.
- A tax-free stipend at the UKRI rate for 3.5 years. Warwick does not print the 2027/28 figure yet. For reference, UKRI’s minimum stipend for 2026/27 is 21,805 pounds a year.
- A 5,000 pound Research Training and Support Grant for research costs such as training, travel or equipment.
- Leave and support. Up to 8 weeks of annual leave a year, paid leave for family and medical reasons, the option to suspend studies if needed, and extra support for disabled researchers.
- Visa help. Eligible international applicants can apply for support towards UK visa and immigration costs.
- Part-time option. Part-time funding is paid at 60 percent over a proportionally longer period, subject to visa rules.
Who can apply
You can be considered for the Faculty Chancellors’ or Interdisciplinary Chancellors’ Scholarship if you:
- are of any nationality or fee status;
- apply for an eligible Warwick research course starting in October 2027: a PhD, MPhil/PhD, EngD or the PhD stage of a Master’s+PhD course such as 1+3 or 2+4;
- will start in 2027/28, because awards cannot be deferred; and
- are not already a Warwick postgraduate research student.
For the Interdisciplinary stream you must also propose a project aligned to one or more Warwick Research Spotlights or Research Centres and write an extra 300-word statement. As a guide, Warwick’s research courses ask for at least an upper second-class UK honours degree or equivalent, but each course sets its own entry and English language requirements. You need an offer of admission before you can receive a scholarship offer.
Warwick PhD scholarship application deadlines for 2027
| Step | Date (16:59 GMT) |
|---|---|
| Competition opened | 5 October 2026 |
| PhD course application | 7 December 2026 |
| Scholarship application and supporting documents | 10 December 2026 |
| References | 21 December 2026 |
| Mid-stage notification | 25 January 2027 |
| Offers released | 5 March 2027 |
In Pakistan (PKT), 16:59 GMT is 9:59 pm the same day. Late submissions are not accepted, and assessment starts straight after 10 December, so ask referees to submit early. Warwick warns that an application usually cannot be completed in less than 36 hours, and your applicant ID can take up to 48 hours to arrive, so submit the course application well before 7 December.
What you need to submit
- Course application through Warwick’s admissions system, with degree certificates and transcripts (with translations, grading scale and average score certificate if available), a personal statement, referee details and, if your department asks, a research proposal and CV.
- Research question or title of up to 20 words.
- Person & Preparedness statement of up to 500 words on how you meet those competencies.
- Project & Place statement of up to 800 words, in plain English and without jargon; no bibliography is needed.
- Optional statements of up to 300 words for the Interdisciplinary, Doctoral Access (Pathway) or CSC streams.
- References, which are imported from your course application. Do not upload certificates, transcripts or references to the scholarship form yourself.
Faculty assessors see only your scholarship application and its documents, not your course application, CV or full research proposal, so your two statements must stand on their own. CVs are not reviewed in the scholarship competition.
How to apply, step by step
- Read the criteria. Study the Competency-Based Assessment Criteria and the Applicant Guidance before you write anything.
- Find a supervisor. Warwick advises contacting and securing a supervisor before applying; supervisory fit is part of the assessment.
- Submit your course application by 7 December 2026. When asked for a funder contact, enter the Doctoral College (doctoralcollege@warwick.ac.uk).
- Register your ITS account. Use the 7-digit applicant ID emailed to you within 48 hours.
- Start the scholarship application and link it to the right course; withdrawing from that course also withdraws the scholarship application.
- Write and check your statements, then submit by 10 December 2026. You cannot edit after submission.
- Chase references so they arrive through the course application by 21 December 2026.
How Warwick ranks candidates
Warwick does not use a numerical scoring matrix. First, your academic department nominates its strongest candidates with a ranking and a statement covering your application, references, project and supervision. Next, each faculty ranks the nominated candidates, giving particular weight to Person & Preparedness. Finally, allocation panels for each stream confirm awards and reserve lists. Assessors consider context, such as structural inequalities and degree inflation. Warwick says the typical success rate is 5 to 10 percent, and it cannot give individual feedback.
Tips for a strong application
- Write to the criteria. Use the competency names (research capability, readiness, originality, feasibility, institutional fit) as a checklist for your two statements.
- Explain why Warwick. Name the supervisor, facilities or research centre that make the project work at Warwick. Our research proposal template helps you plan the project section.
- Brief your referees. Their course references are reused for the scholarship, so ask them to speak to the criteria; see how to get strong recommendation letters.
- Keep it plain. Assessors may not be from your field, so avoid jargon in the 800-word statement.
Other fully funded PhD scholarships in the UK
Compare this award with the Imperial President’s PhD Scholarships, the Gates Cambridge Scholarship and the Sheffield AHRC PhD Studentships, or browse our list of fully funded scholarships in the UK.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Warwick Chancellor’s Scholarship fully funded?
Yes. It covers tuition fees at the UK or international rate, pays a tax-free UKRI-rate stipend for 3.5 years and adds a 5,000 pound Research Training and Support Grant.
What is the deadline for 2027 entry?
Submit your PhD course application by 7 December 2026 and your scholarship application by 10 December 2026, both by 16:59 GMT. References are due by 21 December 2026.
Can international students apply?
Yes. The Faculty and Interdisciplinary Chancellors’ Scholarships are open to any nationality or fee status.
Is the Chancellor’s International Scholarship still offered?
For 2027 entry Warwick offers Chancellors’ awards through the Warwick Postgraduate Research Scholarships competition as Faculty Chancellors’ and Interdisciplinary Chancellors’ Scholarships, both open to international applicants.
How much is the stipend?
Warwick pays the UKRI rate. The 2027/28 figure is not yet published; UKRI’s minimum for 2026/27 is 21,805 pounds a year.
Do I need an offer of admission first?
You must apply for the course first, and you need an offer of admission before a scholarship can be offered.
Can I edit my scholarship application after submitting?
No. Check everything before you submit, because the Doctoral College cannot change it.
When will I hear back?
Mid-stage notifications are sent on 25 January 2027 and offers by 5 March 2027.
Where to apply
Read the Warwick PGR Scholarship Competitions page, follow the PGR Scholarship Applicant Guidance and check the Competency-Based Assessment Criteria before you submit by 10 December 2026. Our Warwick Chancellor’s Scholarship listing keeps the key facts in one place.
Scholarships with the nearest deadlines
| Scholarship | Funding | Stipend | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| US–Pakistan Knowledge Corridor PhD Scholarships 2027 | Fully funded | Not stated on HEC's programme page (see the HEC advertisement) | 30 Oct 2026 |
| Honjo International Scholarship 2027 in Japan | Partial | 230,000 yen a month (degree of 1 to 2 years), 210,000 yen a month (3-year degree) or 180,000 yen a month (degree longer than 3 years) | 31 Oct 2026 |
| European Parliament Schuman Traineeships 2027 | Partial | Monthly grant paid; amount not stated on the official source | 31 Oct 2026 |
| University of Melbourne Graduate Research Scholarships 2027 in Australia | Fully funded | 41,100 Australian dollars a year (2027 rate), plus a full fee offset | 31 Oct 2026 (expected) |
| Australian Government RTP Scholarships 2027 in Australia | Fully funded | 2027 full-time RTP stipend: base rate 35,550 Australian dollars a year, maximum 55,537 Australian dollars a year | 31 Oct 2026 (expected) |
| DAAD EPOS Scholarship 2027/28 in Germany | Fully funded | 992 euros a month for graduates; 1,400 euros a month for doctoral candidates | 31 Oct 2026 (expected) |
| One Young World Leading Scholarship 2026 in South Africa | Partial | See the scholarship page | 31 Oct 2026 |
| UNU Junior Fellows Internship 2027 in Tokyo, Japan | Partial | Monthly stipend; amount not stated on the official source | 1 Nov 2026 |
| Open Doors Russian Scholarship Project 2026–27 in Russia | Partial | Tuition-free study; a monthly allowance is possible only with grant support for Russian-taught programmes | 1 Nov 2026 |
| Max Planck Computer Science Summer Internships 2027 in Germany | Fully funded | Monthly stipend (amount not stated on the official source) | 1 Nov 2026 |
This list updates itself from our scholarships page. Stipend figures are shown where the provider publishes them. See all scholarships.



